Donate to CTA

Justin Cole has been a board member since 2020. He is currently a 2021 Presidential Innovation Fellow assigned to the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC). Justin was previously a managing consultant at IBM where he served as the project manager of a project with the Food & Drug Administration. Justin has volunteered as a tax preparer at Community Tax Aid’s Arlington VITA site for many years and he also volunteers with the American Red Cross.  Justin holds a B.A. in Economics and Public Policy from Syracuse University and an M.S. in Public Policy & Data Analytics from Carnegie Mellon University.


Maria Dooner (Chair) has been a board member since 2011. She is a Tax Controversy Director at where she handles most tax controversy matters and represents taxpayers before the Internal Revenue Service and other state and local tax authorities.  Maria volunteers as a pro bono tax attorney providing tax representation to low-income taxpayers and previously volunteered as a tax preparer at the MLK Library VITA site.  She has served as a Military VITA Instructor and currently teaches as an adjunct professor at Temple University Beasley School of Law.  She holds a B.S. in Economics from the Wharton School at the University of Pennsylvania, a M.P.P. from the Gerald R. Ford School of Public Policy at the University of Michigan, and a J.D. from the University of Minnesota Law School.

harley duncanHarley Duncan (Vice Chair) has been a board member since 2010. He is a Managing Director at KPMG where he heads the Washington National Tax State and Local Practice for KPMG. Prior to this position, he spent the previous 20 years as Executive Director of the Federation of Tax Administrators, an association that represents the principal state revenue collection agencies. He also served as Secretary of the Kansas Department of Revenue,  has held positions with South Dakota state government, the Advisory Commission on Intergovernmental Relations and the National Governors’ Association, and currently serves on several tax advisory boards. He holds a B.A. from South Dakota State University and a M.P.A. from the University of Texas.


Ashley Hagans-Laing (Treasurer) has been a board member since 2018. She is a Senior Manager at KPMG LLP where she primarily focuses on financial statement audits of federal government agencies. For 10 years, Ms. Hagans-Laing served as a volunteer tax preparer and a volunteer quality reviewer primarily in CTA’s Ward 7 sites. She holds a BBA in Accounting from Howard University.




Suzanne Kecmer (Secretary) has been a board member since 2018. She is Founder and CEO of SKB Capital and has over 20 years of experience within the global, aerospace and defense industry. She has held equity research and investment banking positions at leading financial institutions, as well as a corporate strategist role at the Raytheon Company. She graduated from Lafayette College and holds an MBA from Columbia University.



William McNally has been a board member since 2019. He is an attorney at the IRS Office of Chief Counsel National Office, Executive Compensation branch, where he focuses primarily on nonqualified deferred compensation and excise tax issues. Since 2016, Mr. McNally has volunteered with CTA as a VITA instructor, preparer and reviewer. He holds a B.A. in Philosophy, Politics and Law from Binghamton University (SUNY) and a J.D. and LL.M. in Taxation from the Georgetown University Law Center.




barb mantegani

Barbara Mantegani has been a board member for many years, serving as President from 2004-2008. Additionally, since 1992, she has been a manager of the VITA site in Arlington, VA and is also a volunteer trainer, leading training sessions for several hundred volunteers each year in preparation for CTA’s tax season. She provides transfer pricing advisory services through Mantegani Tax, PLLC. Formerly, she was of Counsel in Baker & McKenzie LLP’s tax practice group. Prior to this position, she worked as a senior manager at the Internal Revenue Service and also held positions at KPMG and Deloitte. She holds a B.A. from Boston College, a J.D. from the University of Maine School of Law, a Master of Laws in Taxation from Georgetown University Law Center, and a Graduate Certification in Conflict Analysis and Resolution from George Mason  University.

Meg Newman has been a board member since 2016. She works at the American Bar Association as the Tax Section’s General Counsel.  Previously, she was a Supervising Attorney at the UDC David A. Clarke School of Law Low-Income Taxpayer Clinic where she oversees law student attorneys in the representation of low-income clients with tax controversy matters before the Internal Revenue Service and the US Tax Court and assists in teaching a seminar course. Prior to joining UDC, Meg practiced law at Bryan Cave LLP, working on various housing and community development projects funded with tax credits. She has been involved in the VITA program since 2004, wearing many hats including as a volunteer, a Site Coordinator and the Director of the DC EITC Campaign. Meg holds a JD from Georgetown University Law Center where she was a Notes & Comments editor on the Tax Lawyer journal.

Martin Pippins has been a board member since 2020.  For over thirty years, Marty worked at the Internal Revenue Service in various leadership positions. He has served as the Director of Customer Service & Stakeholder Relations for the Affordable Care Act Office within the IRS’s Services and Enforcement Division, and the Manager of Voluntary Compliance for Employee Plans Rulings & Agreements in the Tax Exempt & Government Entities Division where he was responsible for a nationwide corrections program for retirement plan.  During 2017, Marty was on a detail to the Senate Finance Committee where he has provided input on various issues including tax reform, retirement, and health care legislation.  In 2017, he retired from the Internal Revenue Service, and, since 2018, he has been the Executive Director of the American Society of Enrolled Actuaries at the American Retirement Association. Prior to joining the Internal Revenue Service, Marty was a U.S. Navy surface warfare officer from 1982 to 1986 on the USS MEYERKORD (FF-1058). He graduated from the University of Notre Dame with a B.S. in Mathematics in 1982 and had a four-year Naval R.O.T.C. scholarship.

William R. Stromsem has been a board member since 2003. He currently serves as a Tax Consultant to the Texas Society of CPAs and is on the faculty of the the George Washington University Department of Accountancy. Prior to this position, he was the Tax Division Director at the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants (AICPA) where he was responsible for developing tax products and services and pro bono opportunities for members and also worked with staff responsible for liaison with the Congressional tax-writing committees, the U.S. Treasury Department and the national office of the Internal Revenue Service.  Prior to his work at the AICPA, he worked in the tax department of Arthur Andersen and was a commissioned officer in the U.S. Coast Guard. Mr. Stromsem holds a B.A. in history from The College of Wooster and a J.D. from the Washington College of Law (American University).